GOODBYE, 2016! HELLO, 2017!

new-thing

As 2016 is about to finish, I’m thanking God for every second he gave me during this year. There were good moments, great moments, and awesome moments; there were bad ones, sad ones, and painful ones too.

Through it all, I learned so much.  I learned much more about God’s unending faithfulness, love, mercy, and grace.  I saw His wonder-working miracles.  I witnessed impossible situations become realities, unexplainable outcomes to problems no earthly human could solve, and miraculous healings. The hand of God and His favor were definitely on my life and my children’s lives.

Did I get all I had hoped for in 2016?  No, I did not.  I got so much more than just what I wanted.  Man makes plans, but it’s the Lord’s purposes that prevails.  I finally learned the most valuable lesson of all: to be content in every single situation I find myself in, wanting nothing more than the will of God for that moment and time, and to remain faithful and strong even when all I wanted and hoped for didn’t happen yet.

The year 2016 was a challenge, and by the grace of God, I made it.  I know the tears I shed in 2016 served huge purposes.  I can attest in a huge way, as you followed me, God heals. Miracles happen.  Good comes out bad.  Faith is built as we endure under the pressure of life’s troubles and heartaches, and I’m much stronger;  what the enemy meant for evil, God turned it into defining moments.

My Friends, it’s not about a bad year versus a good year. It’s about you and how you come forth from the storms of life.  Is your trust in God solid no matter what?  Do you know whom you trust in?  Is your faith so great you can say like Job, “Even if he slays me, I will hope in him.”  A great man or woman is made in the fire, the fiercest storms, battered, and bruised.  It’s there we come forth as silver and gold, but not everyone comes forth as silver and gold.  Some become angry, bitter, and hateful.  God forbid you and I come forth like that.  Our theology must be right.  We must understand that we live in a fallen world. This world holds hate, prejudices, sicknesses, and evil of all sorts.

As a child of God, I must be tested so I can attest to the greatness of my God.  God, I want to thank You for showcasing Your power and might, proving to me You will never leave me or forsake me.  For the secret of the Lord is with those who fear Him.  You make Your covenant known to them.  You are not a man that you should lie.  You direct the path of the righteous.  The righteous person faces many troubles, but the LORD comes to the rescue each time.” Thank you, God, for bringing me out victoriously. I thank you for the year of preparation 2016!

Finally, I thank You because I know, “The LORD is close to the brokenhearted; he rescues those whose spirits are crushed.”  You rescued me from all evil and the weapons formed against me served to push me to my real destiny in you! “Your plans are to prosper and give me an expected hope and future.” Notice the word, “expected,” and it will come to pass all the purposes God has planned for my life, my children’s lives, and YOURS!

To this year 2016, thank you for all the preparation you made for me which defined my path, plans, and purposes.  The year 2017 is going to be the year of God’s favor!

Teresa Allissa Citro,
Founder and President, Thread of Hope, Inc.

Leave a Reply

