Reminder For This New Year

just-wait


“In waiting, I wait.”

Pastor Norman Bailey


It’s in waiting upon the Lord we find our strength.  It’s in waiting upon the Lord, we can find ourselves erupting in praise and worship to God.  It’s in the waiting we that if we take the opportunity can think about His abundant grace and mercies which are new every morning.

I waited patiently for the Lord to help me,
and he turned to me and heard my cry.
He lifted me out of the pit of despair,
out of the mud and the mire.
He set my feet on solid ground
and steadied me as I walked along.
He has given me a new song to sing,
a hymn of praise to our God.
Many will see what he has done and be amazed.
They will put their trust in the Lord.

Psalm 40:1-3

The words, “In waiting, I wait,” spoken by my pastor, Norman Bailey, rang out and grabbed my attention, and he was talking about waiting on the Lord and the ordinary waiting we do on a regular basis such as waiting in traffic or in fast food lines, moments where we are waiting in line to check out at the store or at the gas station waiting for an attendant, that give us so many opportunities to wait on God.

So for this new year, let us remember, even in our ordinary moments of waiting to wait and to always reflect His sovereignty, His goodness, and WHO God is.  Take advantage of ordinary moments.  If you struggle to find things to wait on God for or things to be thankful for, passages like Psalm 40 can help you out in recalling how far God has brought you and will bring to your mind how He heard your cries.

May you be filled with new songs

of praise and gratitude

to sing unto the Lord!

loved-by-the-king

Much love to you all,

“Therefore, let us offer through Jesus a continual sacrifice of praise to God, proclaiming our allegiance to his name.” -Hebrews 13:15

Linda A. Knowles

Executive Director, Thread of Hope, Inc.

 

One thought on “Reminder For This New Year

  1. This ministered to me tonight! Waiting on God is made up of wonderful moments. Those who wait on the Lord shall mount up on wings of eagles! These waiting moments serve as defining moments! God word! Teresa Allissa Citro

    Like

Leave a Reply

