SLOW DOWN

slow-down

 

“For from the days of old they have not heard or perceived by ear, Nor has the eye seen a God besides you, Who acts in behalf of the one who waits for Him.” –Isaiah 64:4

I’m the most impatient person in the entire universe. I can’t stand to wait one second. Everything I do is fast.  My Mother says, “Can you please slow down? Mamma Mia, you’re faster than lightning!”  My kids say, “You move faster than we can think. Please give us a moment to think!”

It’s my personality; it’s how God made me. This trait has advantages and disadvantages. If you are in an ocean and the ship is sinking, you better have me next to you. However, if you’re on a ship to relax and sit by the poolside for more than a couple of hours, you don’t want me anywhere near you.  God, on the other hand, is very patient with His creation.  After all, He created us.

So to all those who identify themselves with me and are impatient, God is so loudly speaking to us today.  First thing He tells us, “No one has heard, no one has seen a God like him. Second, “Who acts on their behalf.”

The question is

“Who are those people that He acts on behalf of?”

They are

“Those who wait for Him!”

OUCH!!

This almost eliminates me.  Really God?  Thank God, I might not like waiting, but I fear God too much to not wait on Him.  I don’t like consequences.  So I grumble and try to get God to act faster.  However, He’s God, and I don’t always get my prayers answered quickly. I have to wait.

Waiting for God is extremely important.  First, you are exercising your faith muscle.  It’s impossible to please God without faith.  Secondly, you must trust God.  There can’t be any relationship without trust.  If we can’t trust God to accomplish and bring about the best outcome for our lives, then we need to stop right here and ask forgiveness.  We need to surrender our will and totally mean it.  Imagine a couple getting ready for marriage and not trusting each other.  They don’t have the faith to bring a family together.  I don’t know anyone who got married to someone they didn’t trust and didn’t have the faith in each other to build a family.  God is trustworthy!  He will always work out His perfect plan in our lives.  We must trust Him no matter what we think or feel.  We must have the faith He will work out all things for our good.  It’s not even for His good but our good. What love God demonstrates for us!

1-john-3-3

I know waiting on God is extremely hard,

but we must wait for Him to move on our behalf.

It’s all about timing.

Defining moments are made up in the waiting cells.  What Joseph thought was prison was really preparation for, “No one has heard, no ear has perceived, no eye has seen any God besides you, who acts on behalf of those who wait for him.”  Second in command to Pharaoh. Joseph wasn’t even Egyptian. He was a Hebrew slave. Do you see what God did?  I might move faster than lighting as my Mom always describes me.  She says I wasn’t even a second still in her womb, and my kids say I move faster than they can think.  This might be true, but I promise you when it comes to God and his will, I’m not moving. I will do every single thing He asks of me His way even if it doesn’t make sense to me or those around me.

Where are you today?  Wait!  Wait!!  Wait!  Let these defining moments make you, mold you, shape you into the person God is setting you up to be.

 

Teresa Allissa Citro

Founder & President, Thread of Hope, Inc.

 

 

Leave a Reply

