What Makes A Person Happy?

GOOD 1

I was thinking about “happiness.”

What makes a person happy?

There are many things that bring happiness to our lives. I’m glad about things that bring us happiness. What a great feeling God gave us. The birth of a child, the love of a spouse, a fulfilling job, a piece of chocolate …  I could list many things that make us happy.

However, they are temporary. Have you ever gotten upset at your disobedient child, or become angry at your thoughtless spouse? How about I’m so done with all the nonsense in the workplace, or I’m no longer interested in this career path? My personal one is my love affair with my scale, weighing myself the day after eating half a chocolate cake, then running 10 miles to be sure I didn’t gain any weight. That poor scale, no matter what it says I want to smash it.

We can all identify ourselves with at least one of these, or for some perhaps all three.  However, and thank God for that, “However,” I’m strongly reminded this morning that there is a happiness, a real lasting joyful happiness man can’t give and can’t take away. My Friend, that is God. He makes us happy in who we are in Him. Once we catch this, once we truly get it, there is a happiness no matter what you go through… even if you go through hell and back, God is there. Where God is there is joy unspeakable, a perfect peace in the midst of the hell. You can’t even explain it.  You can’t put into words. But you can feel the peace, and you can feel the happiness, despite the hardship.

As I meditated on this kind of happiness God gives,

I was reminded of this:

“O taste and see that the Lord is good.

How happy is the man who trusts in Him!”

Psalms 34:8

I’m so overwhelmed with true and everlasting happiness just knowing that God honors the man or woman who wholeheartedly without fear completely trusts God.

I’m convinced no good thing will God withhold from me no matter what. He promises that. Knowing this truth enables me to walk in total obedience to all God shows me to do. Sometimes He’s called me to do totally crazy things, and at times, some unbelievable things; but He was never wrong.  There were great purposes to it.

May I invite you today to taste for yourself the goodness of God? How do you do this, you might ask. It’s easy. Ask God for yourself to allow you to taste His goodness in your own life.

My life has not been a bowl of cherries, and I truly thank Him for that. I would have never known God in this way if He didn’t allow the hurt, pain, and troubles of this life. However, I have tasted his goodness and I know he is great, trustworthy, and true. I’m so happy to trust in Him no matter what. He hasn’t failed me yet, and I know for certain He will never fail me. He has promised us that, “the joy of the Lord is my strength and my song.” We can test Him and see for ourselves if that’s true. I promise you it’s true.

I pray you will take Him at His word to “taste and see.”  May you get to bask in this kind of happiness no man can give and no man can take away. Simply put, it is not in man’s power to do so.

I leave you with this final thought, “How Happy is the man who trusts in him?!”

Teresa Allissa Citro,
Founder & President, Thread of Hope, Inc.

Leave a Reply

