People of Purpose

 

Poppy 2

“The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit;  A broken and a contrite heart, O God, You will not despise.” ~Psalm 51:17 NASB

 

 

Very early this morning, I was on a prayer conference call. Three friends and I joined for prayer via conference calling. It was amazing!

We prayed for each other, and we prayed for others who are in need without those people even knowing four people were praying for them before the day even began.  I heard my sisters cry before the Lord as they began to pray about the tough situations they were facing.  I literally felt pain in my heart for them.  I wanted to go through the phone and hug my friends.  They were laying their heavy hearts before the Throne Room of Heaven, totally broken.

God immediately brought to my mind, “The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit; a broken and contrite heart, O God, You will not despise.”

All of a sudden the pain I was feeling for my sisters turned to joy.  I knew God was honoring what they were laying at His feet and what we were believing God for.  God always honors when we come before him and stop pretending everything is fine by getting before Him humbly and emptying our hearts before Him.

When we are real, we allow the Spirit of God to speak to us to fill us with peace and joy.  The joy He gives us isn’t like the joy of any earthly possession we acquire.  The joy He gives is unspeakable, exuberant, and inexplicable. He wants you to experience this type of joy not based on what you are feeling because feelings lie to us all the time.  The world cannot give you this type of joy, only God can take the hurts, disappointments, and turn them to joy unspeakable.

I was very encouraged today.

My three friends and I were in the presence of God, and He made Himself felt in each of our hearts. One of the ladies prayed a prayer, which totally broke me. I had a “wow” moment.  I never knew she was hurting that badly.  She was tired, and she prayed just that.

People, can I just encourage you to always be the kind of person who will wrap your arms around people, encouraging them, loving with the love of God, and pray fully asking God who are the people around you who need that extra moment.  We are to be a people of hope for the hopeless, a beacon of light for those who are lost in the midst of their darkest moments.  There are people who are holding on by a thread of hope.  Be the strong rope that will lift them out of the pit of despair.

There is a new thing happening.   Can you not perceive it?

Be renewed in your spirit, and be the one who is going through the land encouraging, uplifting, and setting the prisoners free from the bondage of despair, hopelessness, and total destruction.  God Himself does not despise a broken heart.  If He doesn’t, don’t you think He’s expecting us not to either?

Let’s be people of purpose with open hearts and outstretched hands and in one accord bringing healing to our lands!


Teresa Allissa Citro
Founder and President, Thread of Hope, Inc.

Leave a Reply

